2018 World Club Championship

presented by GOLF Magazine

← back to news archive

St. George's of Canada Defeats Durban of South Africa to Win the World Club Championship

May 24, 2013

Champions Craig Sinclair and Mark Elgner of St. George's congratulated by Durban's Murray Gilson and Graeme Inggs

The 2013 World Club Championship at Nine Bridges officially concluded today. The team of Mark Elgner and Craig Sinclair from St. George's Golf & Country Club in Canada were crowned the Champions.

Sun Ho Lee, son of Founding Patron Jay H. Lee, and Championship Chairman Eddie Merrins presented the team with the Jay Lee Trophy at the Closing Ceremony where players and caddies exchanged goodbye gifts and players and patrons placed items in a time capsule that will be opened in 40 years at the World Club Championship.

Again, the weather was touted as some of the best seen in Jeju for a long time and contributed to an enjoyable day for the players and spectators who cheered the teams all the way.

The day began with much anticipation for great competition in Match Play Finals and 3rd & 4th playoff, but another 18 hole stroke play tournament was heavily contested as the 18 remaining teams vied for a win which guarantees an invitation to the 2014 World Club Championship.

The Chairman's Division was won by the youngest team of Pierre-Alexis Rolland (22) and Rubin Figueiredo (16) from Oitavos Dunes in Portugal with a 68 four under par. It was a long day with only 4 teams finishing under par and 2 teams finishing even. There were 44 birdies and 1 eagle on the par 4 No. 14.

Eddie Merrins, Sun Ho Lee present Jay Lee trophy to Champions Craig Sinclair, Mark Elgner of St. George's, Canada

Royal Portush players John Turner and Jamie Richardson and the team of Ric Baird and James Wisniewski of Muirfield Village challenged Oitavos in a second place tie at a three under 69.

In Match Play 3rd and 4th Playoff, Portmarnock's team of John Greene and Stephen Walsh were unstoppable over Marcus Ferguson Jones and Stephen Ross of Sunningdale. Portmarnock won the first and second holes to go 2Up. Sunningdale won hole No. 4 but Portmarnock answered on No. 5, No. 9, No. 11, No. 12 and 13 to close out the match at 6 & 5.

The final championship match between Murray Gilson and Graeme Inggs of Durban and the team from St. George's of Mark Elgner and Craig Sinclair ended in a dramatic playoff finish. It began all squared through No. 5 with St. George's winning No. 6 and 8 to go 2Up. Durban fought back on No. 9 and 10 to make it all square. St. George's took No. 11 and 14 to go 2 Up but lost No. 17 and 18 to take the match into a playoff.

The teams went back to the dramatic finishing 18th hole. Emotions were charged with both teams having a lot at stake. Last year, Canada barely missed winning the championship at Diamante and was determined to win in 2013. Similarly, Durban was determined to repeat their championship win at Nine Bridges in 2011.

The playoff hole No. 18 brought the nerves out in both teams. Challenging water, bunker and hazard shots made by both teams set St. George's team up for winning the playoff.

St. George's Defeated Durban 1UP
3rd& 4th PLACE MATCH
Portmarnock Defeated Sunningdale 6UP
Rank Team Score
1 Oitavos Dunes 68
2 Royal Portrush 69
  Muirfield Village 69
4 Diamante 71
5 Seminole 72
  Pine Valley 72
7 Royal Melbourne 73
  Oakmont 73
9 Los Angeles 74
10 Kingston Heath 75
11 Royal Troon 76
  Royal St. George's 76
13 St. Andrews 77
  Valderrama 77
15 Haesley 78
16 Tokyo 79
17 Nine Bridges 84
  Morfontaine No Card

← back to news archive